Medical marijuana is currently legal in Nevada. Card-holding medical marijuana patients, including those from other states, can legally purchase cannabis.
Who can buy marijuana in Nevada?
Anyone aged 18 and older with a valid medical marijuana card can legally purchase marijuana in Nevada, even if the card was issued from another state. Minors may also use medical marijuana as long as a parent or guardian agrees to act as the primary caregiver and signs the Minor Release Form.
In the meantime, marijuana is illegal for recreational users and possession could lead to a fine of up to $600. First time offenders may also be subjected to a court mandated rehabilitation treatment. Even stricter penalties could be imposed for multiple offenses.
Where to buy marijuana in Nevada
There are more than 25 licensed dispensaries in Nevada, with several others scheduled to open soon. For a complete list, check out the Nevada dispensary directory. The majority of the dispensaries will be located in densely populated cities like Reno and Las Vegas, with the remainder being scattered across the state.
Those who are at least 18 years old and possess a valid medical marijuana card can purchase up to 2.5 ounces within a two-week period. This includes concentrates, edibles, flower, topicals and any other products containing cannabis. Calculations for the limit depend on the total weight of cannabinoids in a particular product. For instance, if a patient intends to purchase three 100 mg candy bars, he/she will be able to purchase the remaining weight in concentrates, flower or topicals within a 14-day period.
While patients can shop at different dispensaries, the purchases are being monitored in real-time across the state in order to prevent purchases in excess of 2.5 ounces every two weeks.
The store hours of marijuana dispensaries must be duly authorized by local governments. They should be open during and only during their prescribed time frame and should have their operating hours posted at all times.
The store hours vary depending on local government regulations. For instance, dispensaries in the City of Las Vegas are allowed to operate between 6:00 am and 10:00 pm, while those in Reno are allowed to stay open till midnight.
Where can one use marijuana in Nevada?
Marijuana consumption is intended for private use only. Consumption is prohibited in public places, in a vehicle or on federal land. Although some hotels allow the use of cigarettes, none permit the use of marijuana due to concerns about conflicting federal law. This is particularly true for casinos that strive to comply with gaming regulations, making them less likely to risk “gambling” with federal marijuana law.
It is always best to maintain a low profile when using marijuana. If caught violating public consumption laws, you could be charged with a misdemeanor which entails jail time of up to six months, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. In addition, the judge may assign community service in addition to or in lieu of both fines and jail time.
When transporting cannabis in a vehicle, it must be kept in a sealed container and stored away from the driver and minor passengers. Violation could lead to an “Open Container” fine or, in the case of minor passengers, an “aggravating circumstance” which is a more severe citation.
It is also illegal to transport cannabis across state lines, even if the destination has legal marijuana regulations, because each state enforces different marijuana laws.
Consumption by Minors
It is illegal for a minor to consume marijuana and marijuana-infused products unless he or she has a valid medical cannabis recommendation AND a designated primary caregiver. Illegal consumption by a minor could result in a misdemeanor offense.
Those who are caught distributing cannabis-related products to minors will be charged with a felony which is punishable by a minimum of a one-year prison sentence.