How do I get a medical cannabis card in Nevada?
You may contact Valley Center for Cannabis Therapy directly or request that your primary physician contact us by sending a referral form, which can be downloaded from our website. Once an appointment has been scheduled, we will provide you with log in details so you can access our website and complete all of your paperwork prior to your office visit. At your appointment, a Valley Center for Cannabis Therapy physician will review your documents and history, and perform a physical exam. Once our physician has determined that you are eligible to use medical marijuana, your Valley Center for Cannabis Therapy physician will complete and sign your recommendation letter. Next, a Valley Center for Cannabis Therapy staff member will assist you in completing your application, including notarization of all necessary documents, and will upload your application, along with payment provided by you, to the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
The Nevada Medical Marijuana Program will review the application to ensure that it is complete. If there are no deficiencies found, you will receive your approval letter by email within 24-48 hours. Once you have received this letter, you may begin purchasing cannabis products from dispensaries. A few weeks after receiving your initial letter, you will receive your actual Medical Marijuana Identification Card by mail.
What do medical marijuana cards look like?
The medical marijuana cards look similar to Nevada state driver’s licenses which include a photo and hologram.
What are the approved medical conditions for medical marijuana in Nevada?
Medical marijuana has been approved for treatment of the following medical conditions:
Chronic or debilitating medical condition including:
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
A medical condition or treatment that causes one or more of the following:
- Persistent muscle spasms, including spasms caused by multiple sclerosis;
- Seizures, including those caused by epilepsy;
- Severe pain or severe nausea
When was medical marijuana approved in Nevada?
The Medical Use of Marijuana Law was approved by the Nevada Legislature and adopted in 2001.
What is the Nevada medical marijuana cardholders/caregivers program?
The Nevada Medical Marijuana Cardholders/Caregivers Program is a state registry program within the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Who is allowed to purchase medical marijuana?
You must be a current cardholder or a caregiver in order to purchase medical marijuana.
How much marijuana can a patient purchase?
Each patient can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana every 14 days.
Can people from other states use their medical marijuana cards in Nevada?
Nevada will recognize medical cannabis cards from other states. Patients from Arizona, California and anywhere else medical cannabis is legal will be able to shop at marijuana dispensaries while visiting Nevada.
Can Nevadans use their medical marijuana cards in other states?
It depends on the particular state and the marijuana regulations. To date, only the states of Arizona, Delaware, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire and Rhode Island permit patients from other states to use medical marijuana.
Can patients grow their own marijuana?
Patients are allowed to grow up to 12 mature plants provided they register with the state the address of where they are growing and list all occupants of the property. Patients residing within 25 miles of a dispensary will not be permitted to grow their own plants without a special exemption from the state. Patients growing specific strains of marijuana not provided by a local dispensary may continue to cultivate such strains at home. Patients who have a history of cultivating medical marijuana before July 1, 2013 may also continue engaging in such practice until March 31, 2016.
What is a designated primary caregiver?
A designated primary caregiver is a person who is responsible for overseeing the well-being of an individual diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating disease. The attending physician is not included as a caregiver. Patients can only have one designated primary caregiver, who is at least 18 years old. Any medical marijuana patient under the age of 18 MUST have a designated primary caregiver.
Who can recommend medical marijuana?
Any physician licensed by the state is qualified to recommend medical marijuana for patients.
Why do physicians issue recommendations instead of prescriptions for medical marijuana?
The federal government still classifies marijuana as a Schedule I drug. As such, it cannot be prescribed as a medication and is not available in pharmacies. Physicians may only RECOMMEND medical marijuana at this point.
Can patients use medical marijuana anywhere?
Medical marijuana cannot be used in public places, in vehicles or on federal land.